skip to Main Content

The Local School Councils serve as the policy-making body of the school. LSCs have remained an important vehicle for participatory democracy, allowing not only educators but parents the opportunity to make important decisions about how their children will be educated. It’s through these decisions that parents are connected with; educators to better align family and community engagement goals to student achievement; community members to help leverage community resources for the school; and other parents to share best practices and success stories.

LSC membership is a reflection of engaged and empowered parent, community, student, and educational leaders. It is through LSCs that parents are given a unique opportunity to have a voice in the decision-making table and engage in student-driven dialogue with community members, educators, students, and other parents.

Chicago Public Schools have Local School Councils (LSC) which are responsible for three main duties:

  1. Approving how school funds and resources are allocated
  2. Developing and monitoring the annual School Improvement Plan
  3. Evaluating and selecting the school’s principal

Traditional Local School Councils consist of the following members:

  • 6 parents
  • 2 community members
  • 2 teachers
  • 1 non-teacher staff
  • school’s principal
  • student representative (high school LSCs only)

All are welcome. If you have a question or concern and can’t make a meeting though you can also reach out to us via the LSC Suggestion Box. During ur Remote Learning all LSC Meetings will be held on-line. You may request to attend our LSC Meetings by signing up at our Public Meeting Participation Form.

2020-21 Meeting

10/14/2020  Regular Meeting  Agenda  Minutes
09/25/2020 Special Meeting Agenda Minutes
09/09/2020 Regular Meeting Agenda Minutes
07/01/2020 Special Meeting Agenda Minutes

Our LSC, like most, is made up of twelve members: six parents, two members of the community, two teachers, one non-teaching staff member, and our principal Mr. Toledo. Here’s the current 2018-20 roster:

Jennifer Alper – T
Ami Thaker – T
Debbie Dean – N
Mahmoud Bambouyanni – C
David Feller (FOIA Officer) – C
Amy Ellison (Chair) – P
Bill Harmon (Vice Chair) – P
Naomi Millan – P (Secretary)
Robert Lee – P
Joel Paulraj – P
Angelica Jacinto – P
Efren Toledo – Principal
T – Teacher P – Parent C – Community N – Non-Teacher Staff

Official LSC Minutes

14Oct 20

September 9, 2020 LSC Minutes

LSC Meeting Minutes O.A. Thorp Scholastic Academy via Zoom video conference September 9, 2020 at  5:30 pm Meeting called to order: 5:36 pm Roll Call Present: Amy Ellison, Angelica Jacinto,…

read more
14Oct 20

July 1, 2020 LSC Meeting Minutes

O.A. Thorp Scholastic Academy via Zoom video conference July 1, 2020 at  7:30 am Meeting called to order: 7:38 am Present: Ami Thaker, Naomi Millan, Amy Ellison, Jennifer Alper, Debra…

read more

Live LSC Feed
Back To Top